Welcome to new PhD student, Shirin Taheri

Shirin Taheri has recently joined the iBioChange research group at the Museo Nacional de Ciencias Naturales in Madrid (of which i’m an associate member). Her PhD research will be conducted under the shared supervision of Dr. Miguel B. Araújo and myself.

In her own words:

Shirin Taheri

My current research will assess the hypothesis whether the frequency and magnitude of extreme climate events (ECEs), have impact on 115 bird species range shift in the UK. Indeed, we want to model extreme climate events using time series climate data, and then incorporate them in to species distribution models (SDM) to investigate the niche stability/resilience to the new generation of the climate change. I want also to explore which environmental variation/alteration can better explain the extinction/expansion of species distribution.

I received my MSc. in Geo-information and Earth Observation Science in Natural Resources Management at ITC (Faculty of Geo-Information Science and Earth observation), Twente University in the Netherlands.  In my M.Sc. research I have explored the temporal pattern of vegetation dynamic to explain the geographical distribution of fauna species. I tested if hyper-temporal NDVI, obtained from 218 MODIS time series satellite images, improves the performance of species distribution models.

I am strongly interested to use the application of Remote Sensing and GIS in Biodiversity , ecological and Biogeographical modeling. Next phase of my PhD will be assessing the potential of time series satellite images to explore the signals of extreme climate events.

You can contact Shirin at:

Comments Off on Welcome to new PhD student, Shirin Taheri

Filed under Uncategorized

Comments are closed.